[LIVE REVIEW] Deerhunter and Lower Dens at The Earl

None of my pictures will import for some reason, so I stole this one from my roommate. Thanks, Sarah.

My review of this past Sunday’s Deerhunter/Lower Dens show at The Earl is up over at Dead Journalist.  You can read it here.

This was my favorite Deerhunter show of the 5(?) that I have seen, but I was reluctant to lean too heavily on the superlatives in the review because I never saw any of the early, pre-Cryptograms club shows.  By the time I moved to Atlanta in 2009, they had already been a major indie act for a few years.  The first time I saw them was in 2007, in an outdoor space with probably 3,000 other people, and it honestly didn’t do much for me.  Neither did Cryptograms (although I think the Fluorescent Grey EP is their best release).  Their more ambient stuff never drew me in, which is strange because I’m typically a sucker for bands that strike the balance between ambient and rock that they went for on that album.

I’ve come to like them much more over time, and I think Halcyon Digest is their best album, but I don’t feel like I’m enough of a fan to make sweeping statements about their career.  Maybe things would be different if I had seen them on that first tour they did with Liars, or had I lived in Atlanta in their early club days.  As it is now, though, I’m just a moderate fan with deep respect for what they do.

I didn’t mention Lonnie Holly’s opening performance with Bradford and Cole in my review because I wasn’t there.  I was over at Small Reactions’ last-minute house show earlier, and Lower Dens had already started when I walked into The Earl.  The Blue Indian has a pretty good review of that performance (with video) here.  You can see the whole set (plus video of Lower Dens and Deerhunter) on ifilmbands’ YouTube channel, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

