Little Advances One Year Anniversary Party

One year ago, my roommate and I started this blog with no clear idea about what form it was going to take.  I knew I wanted an outlet where I could do some writing wholly unrelated to my daily life, but I didn’t really think I would primarily write about music.  Film seemed much more likely.  I had taken a few film studies classes in college, so I felt more comfortable writing about that.  It just came more naturally, while writing about music felt foreign.  It was something that I had never done prior to starting this blog.

Even though I didn’t initially know what I wanted to write about, I knew I needed to dive right in or I would get distracted and forget about blogging altogether.  That’s why I ended up turning to music.  I have always gone to a ton of live shows, almost compulsively, so live reviews seemed like easy, obvious material.  Things just kind of progressed from there, and I accidentally became a music blogger.

It helped that so many people involved in the Atlanta music scene were so cool to me.  Little Advances still isn’t a very polished operation, but it was even rougher back in the early months, and I’m incredibly grateful to all of you who sent in submissions or added me to the blogroll back in those early days.  I’m especially grateful to everyone who participated in the Atlanta Music Writers Roundtable.  It was amazing seeing an idea I feared most of you would brush off actually come to fruition.

Most importantly, though, I want to thank all of you for reading.  More people read this blog on a daily basis than I ever could have reasonably anticipated a year ago.  Thanks.

On March 19th, Little Advances is throwing a one year anniversary party.  There will be live music from Red Sea, A. Grimes, and Places, which is awesome as those are 3 of the local acts I’m currently most excited about.  I am extra excited to have them playing in my backyard.  There will be donations accepted for the bands, and we’re going to keep it BYOB.  Stay tuned for a flyer and more details.

Hope to see you there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

