Plenty of good shows this week

No more monthly show calendars. Too many changes and omissions that I don’t notice until it’s too late. I might start doing weekly previews, or I might just put up a preview when there’s something I’m particularly excited about. There’s a lot going on this week, so I figured it was worth a post.

-529 has an promising bill tomorrow night. Popular locals Carnivores headline, with intriguing support in the form of Brooklyn’s Dinosaur Feathers and Raleigh’s Lonnie Walker. I had mixed feelings about the last Carnivores set I saw, but I generally like the band and know they’re capable of better. And the openers sweeten the deal considerably.

-There’s a couple of solid options on Thursday. King Congregation plays a free show at Star Bar, while Young Orchids play The Earl with support from Chattanooga’s Moonlight Bride. King Congregation is pretty raw, Moonlight Bride is polished.  Young Orchids are somewhere in between.  Make your decision accordingly.

-Friday’s best option is Thomas Function at Star Bar. They’re exactly the kind of punky, hooky, bullshit-free garage rock that sounds right at home on Star Bar’s stage.

-Saturday has the unbeatable lineup of JEFF the Brotherhood, The Coathangers, and Heavy Cream at 529 (WYMYNS PRYSYN plays, too, but I can’t vouch for them as I haven’t heard ’em). Batusis, featuring punk/proto-punk lifers Sylvain Sylvain (New York Dolls) and Cheetah Chrome (Dead Boys, Rocket From the Tombs), should be great at The Earl, too, but you can catch them at Criminal Records for free earlier that afternoon. Attention System plays a free in-store at Criminal on Saturday as well – they play at 4, Batusis at 5.

Boris plays the Masquerade on Sunday. Russian Circles open. Boris is probably one of my 2 or 3 favorite active bands, so I’m kind of cranky that I’ll be out of town for this one. If you’re in town and have even a passing interest in either heavy or experimental music, you have no excuse for missing this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

