Off to Pitchfork

By the time this post goes up, I will be en route to Chicago for the Pitchfork Music Festival. That might sound like a bit of hypocrisy if you didn’t make it to the end of this post. Of course, it might sound like hypocrisy even if you did.

I’m excited about the lineup. If James Murphy is to be believed, this might be my last chance to see LCD Soundsystem, who I’ve never actually seen before. Liars skipped Atlanta on their Sisterworld tour, and I snoozed on Beach House tickets when they sold out The Earl in April, so this is a good chance to see two of my favorite bands play material from a couple of my favorite 2010 releases. Throw in sets by Big Boi, Wolf Parade, Raekwon, Lightning Bolt, Free Energy, Broken Social Scene, Titus Andronicus, CAVE, and WHY?, and I’m sold. Plus, Modest Mouse appears to be playing a good mix of their older, better tracks on this tour, so nostalgia and alcohol should make that a pretty fun headlining set.

I probably won’t update the blog until at least Tuesday, but I’ll probably be making incoherent tweets all weekend. You can bear witness to my intoxicated shame here. I plan on making it back in time for Future Islands at 529 on Monday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

